Quinoa Veg Bites

Quinoa Veg Bites
Quinoa Veg Bites
Quinoa Veg Bites

DD1(4.5) has recently decided that she LOVES Quinoa, so I have been googling to find recipes for us to try. (In case you didn’t know, Quinoa contains all of the essential amino acids, making it a “complete protein”)

I’ve also been looking for quick/easy/snacky-type food for DD2(2) to have for tea on a friday when we are always in a rush to go pick DD1 up from pre-school.

This recipe sounded perfect as it meant I could use the first yellow courgette harvested from my garden!  I was going to make it with Quorn Ham, but forgot to buy any, so I added some sweetcorn instead.

DD2 ate a few, but didn’t seem overly keen. I thought they were nice, but not brilliant – I think they needed tastier ingredients to replace the ham, parmasan & spring onion that I ommitted.  This recipe needs more work….

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup quinoa, cooked
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup courgette, grated
  • 1 cup grated orgain, vegetarian mature cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup sweetcorn
  • 1/4 cup parsley, chopped
  • salt & pepper

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 180C/350F
  • mix all ingredients in a large bowl
  • spray a mini muffin tin with non-stick spray and spoon mixture to the top of each cup.
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until the edges of the cups are golden brown.
  • Let cool for at least 5 minutes before removing from the mini muffin tin.

Like this?  How about:

Author: Veggie Bessie

Lone vegetarian in a house of carnivores.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.