Veggie Meatballs & Pasta

Veggie meatballs with pasta

Veggie meatballs with pasta

I got this recipe for veggie meatballs from katielovescooking

She used an egg to bind her meatballs together, but I didn’t need it – if fact, I added more breadcrumbs to my mix as they were too wet & squishy!   She also added some parmesan to her balls, but I missed that out as I didn’t have any Vegetarian equivalent in the house.

The meatball mixture can be used straight away, or covered with cling film and kept in the fridge overnight/for a few hours until needed which sounded perfect to me.  I made the balls in the afternoon while DD2 napped, then DH & I had them for dinner later that evening.

Ingredients

For the meatballs
  • 200g tinned lentils
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 0.5 chilli, finely chopped – optional
  • 50g Vegetarian Parmasan-style cheese – optional
  • 100g ricotta or cream cheese e.g. philadelphia
  • 2 slices of bread made into breadcrumbs (Just whizz them up in a blender)
  • Salt and pepper
For the sauce
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 tin chopped tomatoes
To serve
  • pasta
Instructions
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 220C
  2. Drain the tinned lentils.  Whizz in a blender.  
  3. Add the onion, garlic and chilli,  ricotta/cream cheese, breadcrumbs, cheese, seasoning and mix. 
  4. Form the mixture into balls, and place on a baking tray. Bake in the oven for about 20 mins, turning them so that they brown evenly.
  5. Heat some oil in a saucepan & gently cook the onion until softened
  6. Add the garlic and stir
  7. Add the tinned tomatoes, and stir again.
  8. Gently simmer the sauce for about 15mins.
  9. Cook the pasta
  10. When everything is ready, serve & enjoy!
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in 2013, Main Meal, Uncategorized, Vegetarian
2 comments on “Veggie Meatballs & Pasta
  1. Penniless Veggie says:

    After having seen quite a few different blog recipes for them, I’ve only just tried vegetarian ‘meat’balls and now I think they’re great! I used this vegan recipe that includes TVP which isn’t the most exciting stuff but I think it works really rather well here – it’s the best use for TVP I’ve found anyway! See here in case you fancy trying out another non-meat meatball recipe: http://anodetomungbeans.wordpress.com/2013/04/13/vegan-spaghetti-n-meatballs-pork-style/
    I also like to cook ahead, saves loads of mess and hassle at dinner time. I usually do a big batch of whatever it is and then freeze it in portions suitable for one or two for the month ahead.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 265 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
