White Bean and Avocado Sandwich

White Bean & Avocado Sandwich

White Bean & Avocado Sandwich

A few weeks ago the unthinkable happened….. I got bored of hummus! <gasp!>  I couldn’t quite believe it myself, but even with a variety of additions (salad, harissa, avocado) I had eaten it so much I was bored of it!

So, an alternative was needed, and after a quick google I found this Smashed White Bean & avocado sandwich which saved the day 🙂  It’s one of those things that is so simple to make you feel a bit silly writing it down… but these days I need to write things down so I remember them!

To be perfectly honest, I’m not a huge fan of sandwiches – I tend to see them as a last resort, but they are just SO easy to make & convienient to eat at work, I usually have them a couple of times a week.  My current bread of choice is Warburtons Brown Thins – just enough bread to hold the filling in, but not so much that they become too heavy & stodgy (I don’t want to fall asleep at my desk!)

White Bean and Avocado Sandwich

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 5 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 tin of white beans e.g. Canellini
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • freshly ground salt & pepper
  • your favourite sandwich bread
  • 2 avocados, sliced
  • half a cucumber, sliced
  • sprouts e.g. Alfalfa (optional)

Instructions

  1. drain & rinse the beans & put into a bowl
  2. roughly mash with a potato masher or fork
  3. add oil, salt & pepper to taste
  4. make a sandwich with it & then avocado/cucumber/sprouts

Like this?  How about:

Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with:
Posted in 2014, Dips, Packed Lunch, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 265 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
