Butternut Squash Chilli (slow cooker)

Butternut Squash Chilli (slow cooker)

Butternut Squash Chilli (slow cooker)

I think I saw this on Pinterest & thought it would be a change from our usual chilli & being able to do it in the slow cooker is always appealing!

It was easy enough to make (I am a huge fan of chucking everything into the slow cooker & walking away!), and everyone liked it, but I think I need to make some changes the next time I make it….. as I was feeding it to the kids, I think I played it too safe by omitting the chipotle peppers & using mild chilli powder – it definately needed more spice.  It was also a bit wet for my liking, so will either use a bit less stock next time I make it or try to thicken it up a bit.

Instructions

  • 1 medium onion – diced
  • 1 red pepper – seeded and diced
  • 14 oz chopped tomatoes
  • 14 oz kidney beans – drained and rinsed
  • 1 large butternut squash – peeled and diced
  • 2 cups low salt vegetable stock
  • 1 cup sweetcorn
  • 3 cloves garlic – crushed
  • 2 chipotle peppers in adobo – minced (remove seeds to lower heat) – optional
  • 2 tablespoons cumin
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste

to serve:

  • rice
  • spring onions, chopped
  • greek yogurt or sour cream
  • corriander, chopped
  • tortilla chips, crushed
  • avocado, chopped

Instructions

  1. Put everything into the slow cooker and heat on High for 4 hours or Low for 8 hours.
  2. Serve with rice & what ever garnish you fancy

Like this?  How about:

Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in 2013, Main Meal, Slow Cooker, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 265 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
