Vegetarian Christmas lunch – I need your help!

What are you having for your Christmas lunch?

I’ve been collecting a few ideas on Pinterest, but nothing we have tried so far has really hit the spot so would love to hear your suggestions!

Bessie x

Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with:
Posted in Main Meal, Vegan, Vegetarian
8 comments on “Vegetarian Christmas lunch – I need your help!
  1. Elaine says:

    Hi
    We’ve had a trial run with this one http://www.allaboutyou.com/food/recipefinder/white-nut-roast-recipe-8740 and really liked it.

    • bessie says:

      Thank-you so much for the suggestion! 🙂 We’re going to trial one more thing this weekend, so will add it to the list of possibilities!

  2. Penniless Veggie says:

    Tough one as you’ve not described your favourite flavours. My current idea is to have Vedgeree for Christmas Eve supper, then nut loaf with cranberries and trimmings for xmas dinner, then ‘xmas’ quiche and salad for boxing day.

    • bessie says:

      Sorry, I was very un-specific wasn’t I?!

      There will be 6 adults & 2 kiddies for lunch, I am the only veggie, but everyone will want some of the veggie main. DH hasn’t decided what the carnivores’ main dish will be yet either, but it will all be served with roast spuds, carrots, broccoli, red cabbage, sprouts & mashed swede.

      My main problem with choosing the veggie main is DD1(5). She won’t eat cooked mushrooms & isn’t a huge fan of chestnuts or goats cheese We made a nut roast type thing last weekend & she didn’t like that either (odd, because she loves nuts, but it was quite dry…) My other consideration is my dad who should really be on a low-fat diet, so I don’t want to make it too much of a cheese-fest. My grandparents aren’t fans of anything too spicy.

      Last year I made some lovely little mini pies (in muffin tins), which everyone apart from DD1 loved. I would like to do something similar, but without the mushrooms or chestnuts! She loves chickpeas, and I wondered about making some kind of falafel pie?!

      Thank-you so much for your reply, any ideas are appreciated! What is Vedgeree?

      • Penniless Veggie says:

        Vedgeree = vegetarian kedgeree 🙂

        http://www.racheldemuth.co.uk/blog/vegetarian-kedgeree/

        It’s really tasty but not too heavy which is a bonus if you’re having a big meal with roast spuds etc the next day.

        I know this isn’t probably what you were hoping for, but you could do the lazy thing and get a quorn roast in for the low fat / no mushrooms issue. Mind you I tried it once and it was a bit dry and boring!

        Have you considered a savoury winter strudel? Being filo pastry you can control the oil content. Spinach and feta or ricotta shouldn’t be too high in fat, feta is usually touted as one of the lower fat cheeses. Or you could simply swap low fat soft cheese instead.

        http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-acorn-sq-15793
        http://recipes.coles.com.au/recipes/2658/spinach-feta-strudel/

      • bessie says:

        Spinach is another no-no for DD1 (when she was a toddler she ate everything – what happened?!), but that roasted squash strudel sounds perfect for everyone! Will defo be giving that a go this weekend!! Thank-you so much! 🙂

  3. Anne says:

    Chestnut and mushroom wellingtons. Mmmm.

    • bessie says:

      Oh I do love a mushy wellie! And anything with chestnuts in just screams christmas to me! 🙂

      This is my emergency-back-up dish… If we can’t find anything else, then I have my tried & tested (although never photographed?) recipe.
      https://bessiesveggiefood.wordpress.com/2011/03/01/mushroom-and-chestnut-wellington/

      The only trouble is, DD1(5) won’t eat cooked mushrooms (raw ones are apparently fine), and isn’t a huge fan of chestnuts

      I know she’s not going to starve, as she will happily eat a whole plate full of broccoli, carrots & roasted potatoes, but keep hoping I will find something she’ll eat too!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 263 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
