Ethiopian Sweet Potato and Okra Curry

Ethiopian Sweet Potato and Okra Curry

Ethiopian Sweet Potato and Okra Curry

I’ve never been a huge fan of okra. I remember eating it in a restaurant years ago & it was horrible & stringy – a bit like too old green beans, but worse. <ugh>

But I decided that I should do what I’m always telling DD1(4.5) to do, and try it again. This recipe by @vegetariandad1 looked like the perfect thing, as I thought I could just leave them on the side of the plate & eat the rest of the curry if I didn’t like them!

DH made this (he omitted the fenugreek as we didn’t have any) & said it was easy enough to make, and I was very pleased to find out that I do like Okra! 🙂  It was absolutely lovely, and I am annoyed now at all the years I haven’t been eating it, just because of one badly made dish!

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, diced
  • 100g fresh okra, topped and tailed then halved
  • 1 large red pepper, deseeded and diced
  • 5 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tsp fresh ginger, finely chopped
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 4 tbs red split lentils
  • 1 tbs tomato purée
  • 300ml water
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp each of the following ground spices; allspice, fenugreek, ginger, cinnamon
  • Salt and black pepper to taste

to serve

  • rice &/or naan

Instructions

  1. Add the onion, garlic, ginger, red pepper and sweet potato to a large saucepan with the olive oil and saute over a medium heat for about 8 minutes.
  2. Add the lentils, okra, tomato puree and water and bring to the boil before adding the ground spices.
  3. Reduce the heat and simmer until the water has been absorbed (about 20 minutes).
  4. Season to taste and serve.

Like this?  How about:

Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in 2013, Main Meal, Vegan, Vegetarian
2 comments on “Ethiopian Sweet Potato and Okra Curry
  1. Katie says:

    I made this tonight, and it was delicious! Thank you for sharing such a flavorful and easy recipe.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 265 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
