Green Bean Salad

Green Bean Salad

Green Bean Salad

DD1(4.5) was eating all the cold green beans out of my salad when we were on holiday, so I thought I’d try to make my own.  This recipe looked the best out of the ones Google offered me & the girls and I all enjoyed it.

TBH, I can’t remember the exact quantities I used, but I’m sure they were somewhere along the lines of the original recipe.  I’ll pay more attention next time. Promise!

I missed out the red onion (because neither the girls nor I really like it), and served the dressing on the side (because DD1 doesn’t usually like it).  We also added some avocado because we all love it 🙂

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds fresh green beans, trimmed and cut into mouth-sized pieces
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground mustard
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 large red onion, chopped (optional)
  • 4 cups cherry tomatoes, at room temperature, halved
  • 100g crumbled organic feta cheese

to serve

  • avocado
  • ciabatta

Instructions

  1. Cook the green beans (I steam them).
  2. Drain & place in cold water.
  3. Drain again & pat dry.
  4. In a small bowl, whisk the oil, lemon juice, vinegar, garlic powder, mustard and pepper.
  5. Drizzle over beans if you want (or serve on the side later)
  6. Add the onion (if using) and toss to coat.
  7. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.
  8. Just before serving, stir in tomatoes and cheese.

Like this?  How about:

Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in 2013, Light Meals, Packed Lunch, Starter, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 263 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
