Roasted Tomato Salad

Roasted tomato salad

Roasted tomato salad

I’m always on the lookout for salads that the kids might like & thought the combination of roasted tomatoes, olives & cheese would be irresistible to them…

…of course it didn’t work like that, neither of them liked the roasted tomatoes, and weren’t that keen on the rocket.  I didn’t include the red onion as none of us are very keen on it.  I didn’t bother giving DD1(4.5) any dressing as she has recently developed a dislike of balsamic vinegar. DD2(2) on the other hand loved the dressing and was demanding more to mop up with the bread.

Ingredients

  • 6 medium (450g) baby plum tomatoes
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar, (yes this is extra)
  • 250g baby rocket
  • 1 large (300g) red onion, chopped finely (optional)
  • 1/3 cup (50g) pitted black olives
  • 60g organic feta cheese, cubed

Instructions

  1. Cut tomatoes in half, lengthways. Place the tomatoes , cut side up on an oven tray, sprinkle with sugar. Bake, uncovered, in a hot oven for about 10 minutes or until just tender.
  2. For dressing, combine vinegar, mustard and the extra sugar in a small jug.
  3. Just before serving, combine rocket, onion, olives and tomato in a large bowl, drizzle the dressing over the salad and scatter with the feta cheese.

More salad ideas here:

Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with:
Posted in 2013, Light Meals, Packed Lunch, Starter, Vegetarian
3 comments on “Roasted Tomato Salad
  1. Broccoli and Rice Cakes says:

    I’m surprised your little ones didn’t like the tomatoes. I thought they would be a sweet and juicy hit. I might try this with my tomato-loving toddler, although maybe I’ll try agave syrup instead of the brown sugar. She loves olives so I know that they would get picked out and eaten straight away…

    • bessie says:

      The olives are always first to go here too! 🙂

      I can’t understand why they didn’t like the roasted tomatoes either (I loved them!), but they don’t like roasted red pepper either (huh?) – I guess they must be going through a ‘raw’ stage, which I can’t really complain too much about – however frustrating it is!

  2. Sinéad says:

    My mouth is watering! Love the idea of roasting the tomatoes and the brown sugar must really bring out their flavour. My oldest son will love this! I think we all will: )

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 264 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
