Apple & Cinnamon Dough Balls

Apple Cinnamon Dough Balls

Apple Cinnamon Dough Balls

I’ve been on a bit of a mission lately to come up with interesting breakfasts on a sunday.  DH & I have both become very bored with the monotony of toast &/or cereal, and sunday is really the only morning we have time for anything experimental.

I was pointed in the direction of this recipe on bitofthegoodstuff by Penniless Veggie – I prepped almost all of it up the night before, so all I had to do was warm & pour the cinnamon syrup over the dough & pop into the oven.

My syrup wasn’t runny or liquidy enough as there was none to “mop up” in the bottom of the pan -I wonder if this was because it was in the fridge overnight? Or perhaps I didn’t puree my apple enough? (I was expecting to cook the apple, then puree it) But it was still a very lovely breakfast – or at least DH & I thought so. The DD’s ate a doughball, but were unimpressed & didn’t want any more, which I was gutted about – I was already thinking about how I could make this in the slow cooker the next time!  Perhaps I’ll try it again in a few months time!

This recipe makes 18-20 dough balls (serves 3-4)

Ingredients

Dough

  • ½ tsp fast action yeast
  • 300g strong wholemeal bread flour
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 170ml lukewarm water
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Cinnamon Sugar

  • 1 tbsp coconut sugar (I used granulated sugar)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon

Apple Cinnamon Syrup

  • 1 organic apple, cored and chopped (I kept the skin on)
  • 2 tbsp virgin coconut oil (I used this light oil)
  • 2 tbsp maple or agave syrup
  • 1 tbsp coconut sugar (I used brown sugar)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon

Instructions

  1. Prepare the dough:
    1. Lightly oil a bowl – you will put the dough in here to rise later.
    2. Place the yeast, flour and salt in a large bowl.
    3. Add the warm water and oil. Mix well with a spoon, then bring it together with your hands until you have a sticky dough.
    4. Knead for 5-10 minutes, until the dough is smooth.
    5. Place the dough in the lightly oiled bowl, cover with a damp tea cloth or oiled cling film, and leave in a warm place for about an hour until it has doubled in size. If your house is cool you can cover with oiled foil and leave in the oven at 40C / 100F for an hour.
    6. When the dough is ready, remove from the oven, knead for a couple more minutes then set aside.
  2. If you’re cooking this now – preheat the oven to 200C / 400F / Gas 6.
  3. Brush or spray a 23 cm / 9″ loose bottom pan with oil.
  4. Prepare the cinnamon sugar:
    1. In a small bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon.
  5. Prepare the apple cinnamon syrup:
    1. First blend the apple into a smooth puree. I did this using a stick blender.
    2. Place the apple puree, coconut oil, syrup, sugar and cinnamon in a small pan and gently heat until the oil has melted.
  6. Make the dough balls
    1. Pull off small amounts of dough and roll them into balls about 2½ cm / 1″ in diameter.
    2. Roll them in the cinnamon sugar and place in the oiled pan.
    3. Repeat until all the dough has been used. Evenly space out the balls in the pan (they will expand when baking).
    4. If you have any cinnamon sugar left over, add it to the syrup pan.
      ** I then put the dough balls & syrup in the fridge & continued the recipe in the morning **
  7. Add the syrup 
    1. Spoon the apple cinnamon syrup evenly over the top and in between the dough balls.
  8. Cook
    1. Place in the preheated oven and cook for 25-30 minutes.

Serve warm, either inverted onto a plate or straight from the pan.

Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Posted in 2013, Baking, Breakfast, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 265 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
