Vegetarian Shepherd’s Pie

Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie

Vegetarian Shepherd’s Pie

I only discovered vegetarian dad’s recipe blog recently, and this Shepherd’s Pie was at the top of a long list of recipes on there I want to try out!

I only made very minor changes to the original recipe. I used Henderson’s Relish instead of Soy Sauce as a friend very kindly gave us a bottle a few months ago & I’ve been wanting to use it for more than just cheese on toast.  I did forget to use it for the topping though!   I also used Cannellini beans instead of Pinto beans because my supermarket doesn’t sell them.   The only other thing I did was to chop the mushrooms up into tiny pieces so that they couldn’t be identified (and therefore rejected) by DD1 (4.4)

I made this in 2 sessions. I made the filling first thing in the morning & put it into the slow cooker on low for an hour or so while the girls & I popped out to do some errands.

When we got back I cooked the potatoes and split the filling between two dishes (each served 3) – one to go into the freezer for another day.  I didn’t think there was going to be enough mash to cover both dishes, so I put it all on top of one <yum>

The girls and I loved it (one dish was the perfect amount).  When we are the leftovers from the freezer the next week, DH was unexpectedly there & it just about served the 4 of us (although both DH & I would have loved to eaten more!)

Ingredients

  • 1 Large onion, peeled and diced
  • 1 Red pepper, deseeded and diced
  • 1 Large carrot, peeled and diced
  • 2 Cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 100g Mushrooms, chopped very, very small
  • 200g Swede, peeled and finely diced
  • 400g Tin kidney beans
  • 400g Tin Canalinni beans
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 400g Tin chopped tomatoes or Passata
  • 2 tsp Mixed herbs
  • 1 tbs Tomato purée
  • 1 tbs Sweet chilli sauce
  • 1 tbs Soy Sauce or VEGETARIAN Worcstershire Sauce (I used Henderson’s Relish)
  • 2 tsp vegetable bouillon

For the topping

  • 500g Potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 100ml Milk
  • 25g Butter
  • 50g Grated cheddar cheese
  • 1tbs Soy Sauce or VEGETARIAN Worcstershire Sauce 
  • Salt and pepper to taste

to serve:

  • something green – broccoli, cabbage or even a nice green salad

Instructions

  1. Add the olive oil to a large pan and gently sauté the onions and garlic for 5-8 minutes.
  2. Add the carrots, swede, mushrooms and pepper and simmer gently for a further 5 minutes.
  3. Add the remaining filling ingredients, cover and simmer gently for 20 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, bring a large saucepan of lightly salted water to the boil and add the potatoes. Boil until soft, then drain and add the milk, butter and seasoning and mash until smooth.
  5. Preheat the oven to 180C
  6. Spoon the mixture into a large ovenproof casserole dish and carefully layer the mashed potato on the top.
  7. Sprinkle generously with grated cheese and add a few drops of soy sauce or Vegetarian Worcestershire sauce to aid browning.
  8. Bake for 25 minutes until brown and crispy.
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in 2013, Main Meal, Vegetarian
One comment on “Vegetarian Shepherd’s Pie
  1. I’m glad you enjoyed the recipe Bessie! No problem about changing it – that’s the joy of cooking for me – lots of experimenting. Actually yours sounds better – I’ll have to give it a go! Take care. Paul

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 263 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
