Nachos

Nachos

Nachos

I’ve never made Nachos before.  I think I’ve only eaten them once at the cinema & got annoyed by how much money I’d paid for a small plastic plate of greasy cheese. <ugh>

However, when I saw these Caprese Nachos with Pine Nuts I wondered if I should give them another go. I’m glad I did.

DD2 (1.10) loved them. DD1(4.4) first ate all the pine nuts, then picked the cheese off & just ate the crisps! 😮  Both the girls love cheese so I was gobsmacked that she refused to eat it, but I’m starting to think she doesn’t like ^melted^ cheese as she did a similar thing last time I made Cheese & Apple on toast <sigh>

I made this again for DH & I the next day (to use up the crisps & cheese), and he loved it, so I suspect I will be asked to make it again!

Ingredients

  • tortilla crisps
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 cup mozzarella, shredded
  • 1.5 tbsp basil (I used dried, but fresh would be much nicer)
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1.5 tbsp pine nuts

Instructions

  1. pre-heat oven to 180c/350F
  2. spread a couple of handfuls of tortilla crisps out onto a baking tray
  3. sprinkle cheese over them.
  4. scatter tomatoes, basil & pine nuts
  5. finally, drizzle some olive oil over the top
  6. Put into the oven for 5-10 mins, until the cheese has melted & the edges of the crisps are starting to brown (mine took 10min)
  7. transfer onto a cool plate (easier said than done), and eat
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Posted in 2013, Finger Food, Snacks, Starter, Vegetarian
One comment on “Nachos
  1. I’m so glad you liked the Caprese Nachos recipe!! It always makes me so happy to share food ideas 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 263 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
