Bulgur Vegetable Chili

Bulgur Vegetable Chili

Bulgur Vegetable Chili

This was quick and easy to make, and was also very tasty.  Both DD’s loved it.

My usual supermarket doesn’t sell bulgur wheat, but they did have these ready to eat mixed grains which I just stirred in at the end (and used less stock).   DD2 (1.10) and I really liked them, but DD1 (4.4) wasn’t so keen & asked to have “normal” rice the next time.

DD1 won’t eat courgette, so I chopped it really small with my special chopper.  They both get very excited when I use it, and I was told in no uncertain terms that I had to chop the carrot the same way, which is why you can’t really see it in the photo.

As it was the first time I’d made it, I played it safe by only using 1tsp mild chilli powder, 0.5 tsp smoked paprika & no cayenne pepper (we didn’t have any).  Next time I will increase the spices.

This fed 1 adult & 2 children twice. We will definately be making it again, but probably with normal rice on the side as requested by DD1.

Ingredients

  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 onion
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 courgette
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 large tin (340g) sweetcorn 
  • 8 cherry tomatoes
  • 1 tin kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 150g bulgur
  • 1 tin (400g) chopped tomatoes
  • 700ml low salt veg stock
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. chili powder (I used mild)
  • 0.5 tsp. paprika
  • 0.25 tsp. cayenne pepper (optional)

Instructions

  1. Prep veggies: dice onion, bell pepper, carrot, courgette, crush garlic, and halve tomatoes.
  2. In a large-ish saucepan over medium-high heat, sauté onion, bell pepper, carrot, courgette, and garlic for about 7-8 minutes.
  3. Add corn, tomatoes, and spices. Sauté another 3 minutes.
  4. Add the veg stock, tomato sauce, bulgur, and beans.
  5. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and let simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until bulgur is cooked. 
  6. It will become very thick as the bulgur absorbs the liquid, and even more after sitting a bit. Add more stock /water to thin it out if desired.
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in 2013, Main Meal, Vegan, Vegetarian
3 comments on “Bulgur Vegetable Chili
  1. Broccoli and Rice Cakes says:

    We tried this recipe over the weekend. Everyone enjoyed it, even my 2 year old daughter who was being very grumpy on the day that I made it! I made a few changes (omitted the courgette and cherry tomatoes and used black turtle beans instead of kidney beans) and it was great- really easy to put together and tasty. We also added some grated cheese on top. Thanks for posting!

  2. […] think I saw this on Pinterest & thought it would be a change from our usual chilli & being able to do it in the slow cooker is always […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 263 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
