Polenta with tomato sauce & olives

Polenta with tomato sauce & olives

Polenta with tomato sauce & olives

I am sooooo pleased that the both the girls liked this!  I really like polenta, but last time I gave it to them, they weren’t that keen.

I decided to fry the polenta, because I didn’t have time to cook it in the oven.  For my first serving, I used a little oil in the frying pan, but it took ages & when I turned the heat up it started smoking.  When they eventually browned I served them in ‘fingers’ with some pureed sauce – DD2 (1.9) scoffed the sauce, but didn’t seem that keen on the polenta until I cut it up into smaller pieces, but DD1 loved it.

For my second serving I wiped the oil out of the pan & cooked the polenta in ‘slices’, which seemed to cook a little better, but did seem to quite quickly burn if I didn’t keep an eye on it.  I served it with the sauce & topped with olives (see piccie).  It was delicious!  The girls liked it once I’d chopped it up into bit-sized pieces (and added some grated cheese)

We will be making this again!

Ingredients

  • 500g ready made polenta
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 tin chopped tomatoes
  • 0.5 teaspoon dried Italian herb mixture (this was made by DD1 – roughly 0.25tsp of each of the following)
    • Dried Oregano
    • Dried Thyme
    • Dried Basil
    • Dried Rosemary
    • Dried Sage
  • Olives, halved
  • Olive oil
  • a little grated cheese (optional)

Instructions

  1. Heat some oil in a saucpan & gently cook the onion.  
  2. Add the garlic & cook for a minute
  3. Add the tinned tomatoes, bring to the boil & then reduce the heat to a simmer
  4. Add the herb mix & allow the sauce to reduce.
  5. Heat some oil (or not) in a frying pan & gently brown the sliced polenta
  6. Serve topped with the tomato sauce, cheese (optional) and olives.
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in 2013, Finger Food, Light Meals, Vegan, Vegetarian
2 comments on “Polenta with tomato sauce & olives
  1. Erika says:

    Ooh, yum. I’m gonna try this. Grated cheese makes anything palatable to kids, right? Lol. I might try the polenta with a proper ratatouille topping too. Can’t wait.
    Erika @ thislittlepretty.blogspot.com xx

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 265 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
