Vegetarian Club Sandwich

Club Sandwich

Club Sandwich

Saw this & thought we should give it a go.

DH was the only one who actually had 3 slices of bread.   There was no point giving the girls (4.3 & 1.9) a triple-decker as they would never get their mouths round it & I didn’t really fancy eating that much bread so just had 2 bits too.

DH & I thought it was nice.  Not wonderful, but nice.  DD1 said she didn’t like it (despite liking all the constituent parts) & DD2 just pulled it apart & licked the bread.

Perhaps the tomatoes were an important part (I missed them out as the ones we had in the fridge looked past their best) or perhaps I should have mixed the carrots & watercress together (I mis-read that bit).  It was nice enough that I’ll probably make it again.

Ingredients

  • 2 or 3 slices granary bread
  • 1 large handful watercress
  • 1 carrot , peeled and coarsely grated
  • small squeeze lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 dessertspoons houmous
  • 2 tomatoes , thickly sliced

Instructions

  1. Toast the bread.
  2. Meanwhile mix the watercress, carrot, lemon juice and olive oil together in a small bowl.
  3. Spread the houmous over each slice of toast.
  4. Top 1 slice with the watercress and carrot salad, sandwich with another slice of toast and top with the tomato.
  5. Lay the final slice of bread, houmous side down, then press down and eat as is or cut the sandwich into quarters.
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Posted in 2013, Light Meals, Packed Lunch, Vegan, Vegetarian
5 comments on “Vegetarian Club Sandwich
  1. Vanessa says:

    Yum! I love this take on the classic club sandwich!

  2. Broccoli and Rice Cakes says:

    I like the idea of a veggie club sandwich. I’ll give this one a whirl- I like the idea of toasting the bread. A bit different, no?!

    • bessie says:

      the toasty bread was very nice – I’m wondering if it would go soggy if I took it into work for my packed lunch though?

  3. This looks amazing! I’ll give it a try 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 265 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
