Hot Chilli Pepper Tofu

Hot Chilli Pepper Tofu

Hot Chilli Pepper Tofu

I can’t for the life of me remember how I found this recipe (perhaps Pinterest?), but as soon as I saw it, I knew I had to make it.

The original recipe used corn syrup, as I’ve never had a need to buy this before I was reluctant to buy a bottle & looked up what I could use instead.  It seems that honey, syrup, or any other sticky-goo-type liquid was a suitable replacement, so I thought mirin might be appropriate.

I served this with rice & stir-fry veg.

Ingredients

  • 1 pack of firm tofu, cubed
  • 1 tbsp corn flour
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1/2 inch ginger, chopped
  • 1 fiery chilli, chopped
  • 1 1/2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp mirin
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 60ml water
  • pinch of chilli powder
  • pinch of toasted sesame seeds
  • some finely chopped spring onion
  • some vegetable oil
  • salt and pepper

to serve

  • stir-fry veg
  • rice

Instructions

  1. Dry tofu (I use tea-towels) before cubing, then coat lightly with corn flour (I put them in a tupperwear box & shake). Add pinch of salt and generous helpings of freshly cracked black and white pepper.
  2. Put the rice on
  3. Heat some oil in the wok or frying pan over medium to high heat, and gently shallow fry for around 5mins until golden. Remove cooked tofu cubes and set aside.
  4. Use the same pan, heat some oil and gently fry the chopped onion, garlic, ginger and chilli until onions are softened.
  5. Heat another pan & stir-fry the veg.
  6. Once onions are softened, add tofu, soy, sugar and chilli powder along with water. Bring them up to boil and simmer on low heat until tofu has soaked up all the juices.
  7. Stir in the mirin, drizzle sesame oil and seeds.
  8. Sprinkle finely chopped spring onions and dig in.

Like this?  How about:

Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Main Meal, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 263 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
