Tortilla (Spanish Omelette)

I’ve lost the recipe my spanish friend gave me for this, but this one by Delia sounded familiar except it’s not what I did.

I used cold, pre-cooked potatoes (because I had some that needed eating), and I didn’t try to turn it – my frying pan is too big & heavy for me to attempt it, so I just popped it under the grill like I do for frittata. Perhaps I’ll try it the “proper” way next time!

The girls both loved this, so I will definately be making this again – any leftovers can go into my lunchbox the next day!

Ingredients

  • 1 medium onion
  • 275g potatoes
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 6 large free-range eggs
  • salt and freshly milled black pepper

to serve:

  • some salad – tomatoes, cucumber, lettuce etc

Instructions (or rather, what I did!)

  1. put the grill on
  2. slice your pre-cooked potatoes as thinly as possible.
  3. heat some of the oil in the pan
  4. add the onions, and cook over a low heat for 10 mins or so until they are tender
  5. add the potatoes
  6. break the eggs into a large bowl & whisk lightly
  7. when the potatoes & onions are ready, add them to the beaten eggs & mix
  8. add some more oil to the frying pan, and tip the mixture into it
  9. turn the heat down to the lowest setting & leave to cook for 20 mins
  10. finish cooking it, by popping it under the grill for a few minutes.
  11. Serve, warm or cold with salad.
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Finger Food, Light Meals, Vegetarian
2 comments on “Tortilla (Spanish Omelette)
  1. We love this in our house too! I add any leftover veggies in it, in fact anything that needs using up! Here is my recipe: http://www.dietitianuk.co.uk/?s=frittata

    • bessiecat says:

      Yes, they are perfect for using up all kinds of random veg aren’t they!

      It’s funny, but if I start adding veggies to it, then I call it a Frittata rather than a Tortilla – no idea why though, as they are both the same thing, just from different countries!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 263 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
