Black-eyed pea burgers

I saw these burgers here on WordPress & thought they sounded delicious – I LOVE olives and black beans!

This was possibly the first problem. The recipe calls for black eyed PEAS.  I also ended up making them without the chilli as the kids were having them & without the onion/garlic salt as I don’t own any.  If I were you I would just go straight to the original recipe now!

DD1(3.10) refused to even try them.   DD2 (1.4) ate them, but she is a mini-human dustbin – just like like her dad – who also liked them.  I thought they were ok-ish.  I probably should have increased the spices to make up for the lack of salt, and of course, used black eyed PEAS not black beans <sigh>.

I’ll be eating up the leftovers that are still in the freezer, but I’m not sure if I’ll be making them again too soon.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of black-eyed peas, soaked OR 1 can of black-eyed peas, drained and rinsed
  •  1/4 cup of sliced olives
  •  1/4 cup of mushrooms, chopped (optional)
  •  1/4 onion, chopped
  •  1/4 cup bread crumbs
  •  1 tbsp onion salt
  •  1 tsp garlic salt
  •  2 tbsp cumin
  •  1 tbsp coriander
  • 2 tbsp corn oil
  •  red pepper flakes and salt to taste

Instructions

  1. If you’re using dried peas, cook them as per the instructions
  2. put everything into a bowl & mush it up!
  3. squish the mix into some containers into buger shapes (I couldn’t find anything round & ended up using take-away boxes)
  4. freeze
  5. when you’re ready, fry straight from frozen
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with:
Posted in Light Meals, Vegan
3 comments on “Black-eyed pea burgers
  1. Kinenchen says:

    HEY! Thanks so much for linking to our recipe. It’s become a regular favorite around here. 🙂 I like your idea to use takeaway boxes. “Reuse” is definitely more environmentally friendly than “recycle”, IMO.

    • bessiecat says:

      The plastic take-away boxes we get here are great – I find so many uses for them. Although having rectangular burgers was a bit wierd!

      I’ll have to try making these burgers again, yours looked delicious & perhaps if I follow the recipe properly [blush] mine will too! 🙂

      • Kinenchen says:

        I was thinking how a square burger would fit on the sliced bread we get instead of round buns which are hard for me to find gluten-free and vegan so your square burgers aren’t so weird after all. Taste is a very particular thing to each individual person. My other half was horrified the first time we cooked together and I constantly had a finger in whatever I was working on, tasting it, adding things and tasting it again. I guess I mean to say that the recipe is a decent guide but your taste buds will make it awesome.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 263 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
