Potato & spinach cakes

mmmm yet another brilliant looking recipe from mamacook, this looks like a good use of the baked potatoes I have in the freezer, and the jar of mango chutney that needs eating up in the cupboard.

The recipe says it makes 6, so I thought I would double it up for the two DC.

Making them wasn’t straight forward.  I knew I didn’t have any curry paste, but I though that would be no problem – I’d just put more garam masala in.  I had 0.5 tsp in the cupboard.   Then I realised I didn’t have enough spinach, so had to sub in some peas.    After all that, DD1 (3.5) didn’t like them <sigh> Luckily DD2 (1) ate them so it didn’t feel like a complete waste of time!

Ingredients

  • 1 Cooked jacket potato
  • 50g, frozen chopped spinach, cooked as per pack instructions
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp mango chutney
  • 0.5 tsp curry paste (with an appopriate heat for your audience)
  • 1-3 tsp wholemeal flour
  • Handful of breadcrumbs
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 tsp, drizzle of oil

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 200oC / 400F
  2. Mash the potato and mix with the cooked, drained spinach, spices and chutney.
  3. Add enough flour to make it formable into cakes
  4. Make into cakes, dip in egg and then the breadcrumbs then put on a tray and drizzle with the oil (I used spray oil)
  5. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes until hot through and crispy on the outside.
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with:
Posted in Finger Food, Vegetarian
One comment on “Potato & spinach cakes
  1. […]  bessie26 whose Potato & spinach cakes were just […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 265 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
