Zoo’s rooty cheesy muffins

Both the DDs seem to be enjoying the savoury muffins I’ve been making lately, so here’s another variation from another poster on mumsnet.

I was particularly excited about making these as I had just got my new silicon muffin tray & was desparate to try it out.  I was very surprised to see on the packaging that you still had to grease the tray? Huh? I had assumed the magic of silicon would mean I didn’t have to do that!  The muffins turned out ok, maybe not quite so cooked around the base, but as I haven’t made this before it was difficult to tell.  DD1 refused to eat them, but I think she was just in one of those moods, but DH moaned & moaned about cleaning the muffin tray afterwards – he says that because it’s so floppy, it’s really difficult to scrub properly!  I’ll try it out again, but I can’t risk upsetting my washer-upper!

Ingredients

  • 250g plain flour
  • 1tbsp baking powder
  • 100g parsnip (approx 1), grated
  • 100g carrot (approx 1), grated
  • 70g strong cheese, grated
  • pinch nutmeg
  • 2 free-range eggs
  • 150ml oil
  • 200ml milk

Instructions

  1. pre-heat oven to 190oc/375of/gas 5
  2. line or grease 12 muffins
  3. mix flour,powder and nutmeg
  4. stir in carrots, parsnips and cheese
  5. mix oil, milk and eggs in a jug
  6. fold “wet” into”dry” lightly with a fork
  7. spoon into cases.
  8. bake 20-25mins til golden and springy to touch

These freeze well in bags or boxes
reheat from frozen to serve warm-190oc/375of/gas5 for 20mins

Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with:
Posted in Baking, Light Meals, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 265 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
