Squash & Olive baked risotto

DD1(3.3) has gone from eating absolutely anything, to being very very picky in the last few months <sigh> I’m trying not to make a big deal out of it as she is still eating everything put in front of her at pre-school & her Grandparents and hoping that she’ll snap out of it soon – in the meantime I’m trying to think of some meals which we can all eat together.

Sooooo, she likes olives (although she informed me last week she no longer likes them in ciabatta), she likes rice… lets do a (baked, because I’m lazy) risotto with those two things in.  Google gave me this, below is my version.

This was really easy to make & really tasty, I do love roasted butternut squash! DH & DD2(9m) liked it (this is not surprising, neither of them have ever refused anything I have put in front of them). DD1 pulled a face when she had some squash (I think she thought it was going to be sweet potato), but happily ate the rice & olives. I totally forgot about the parmasan – I keep forgetting I’ve finally found a nice vegetarian one, and the almonds.

Next time, I need to increase the quanities, I think DH could have eaten another plateful!

Serves 2 adults, 1 toddler & 1 baby (just about)

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp Olive oil
  • 300g Butternut squash, diced
  • 3 clove Garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp Sage, chopped
  • 1/8 teaspoon Ground black pepper
  • 200g arborio rice
  • 500ml Low salt veg stock
  • 150g Black Olives, sliced
  • 25g Vegetarian Parmesan-style cheese, grated
  • 150g toasted flaked almonds

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 220C/Gas 7.
  2. Place the butternut squash and olives in a roasting tin and sprinkle over the garlic and olive oil. Roast for 20 minutes until the squash is softened.
  3. Stir in the rice, sage, pepper & veg stock, mixing well together. Return to the over for a further 20 minutes.
  4. Stir and return to the oven for a further 10 minutes until the rice is tender.
  5. Mix in parmesan cheese and top with almonds. Serve immediately.
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 265 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
