risotto (Slow cooker)

I sometimes think that mamacook must be able to read my mind.  I’m doing the weekly meal plan, thinking that I need to give DD2 lumpier food & some rice & voila! She blogs a Slow Cooker risotto recipe 🙂

I think she must have a more powerful slow cooker than me, as I have never seen anything “simmer” in mine, so I’ve changed the cooking times. YMMV.

Ingredients

  • 350ml veg stock
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped finely
  • 1 onion, chopped finely
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 200g butternut squash (peeled weight), chopped into a fine dice
  • 100g arborio rice
  • 35g vegetarian cheddar

Method

  1. Put the stock into the slow cooker & put on High.
  2. Gently fry the onion and garlic in the olive oil until softened. 
  3. Add the onion, garlic and butternut squash to the slow cooker and heat on high for approx 30 mins
  4. Add in the rice and cook for 25-30 mins, stirring once or until the rice is cooked. (I cooked mine for around 45min)
  5. Add more stock or water during the cooking time if it needs it.
  6. Add in the cheese and stir.
  7. Puree if required
Verdict?
Perhaps it’s that DD2 & I both have colds, or perhaps the veg was a bit crap, but she wasn’t particularly impressed & this tasted a bit bland to me.  It was a very, very easy way to make risotto though, so I’ll definately be doing it again.
I ended up pureeing some for DD2 & mixing it up with some lumps & she liked it more then 🙂
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Main Meal, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 263 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
