Ginger soup

Will you hate me if I say that I love YAWYE?  Don’t get me wrong, I think the little Scottish woman is mental, but I guess the show would be ever so dull if she was nice to people?

Anyway, DD1 & I had this for lunch from the freezer – it is my fave soup & it’s basically this recipe for Chunky Lentil & Vegetable soup, but without the chili powder & more ginger (hence the name).  You don’t have to blend it, but DD1 prefers it that way & I think it freezes better that way.

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp virgin olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and crushed
  • 2 medium onions, peeled and sliced
  • 1 large thumb’s worth of root ginger finely chopped
  • 3 medium carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 2 medium parsnips, peeled and cut into small cubes
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and cut into small cubes
  • 175g / 6oz red split lentils
  • 1 organic low-salt vegetable stock cube
  • 1 medium leek, trimmed and sliced (optional because I always forget to buy one for this recipe)
  • Fresh parsley sprigs, to garnish (optional)

Directions:

  1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan or flame-proof casserole over a low heat and cook the garlic and onions for 5 minutes until softened but not coloured, stirring occasionally.
  2. Add the ginger and cook with the onions for a few seconds before adding the carrots, parsnips and sweet potato. Add the lentils to the pan and stir well. Crumble the stock cube on top and pour over 1.5 litres of cold water.
  3. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer gently for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove any foam that rises to the surface with a spoon. Add the sliced leek (if you remembered to buy it) and simmer for a further 8-10 minutes until the lentils are tender.
  4. Serve in warmed bowls, garnished with fresh parsley if liked. Or, blend the soup for a smoother texture, then serve topped with spoonfuls of low fat bio yogurt and fresh chopped coriander.
Verdict
Always a winner 🙂
I made this in the slow cooker today.  I prepped everything up last night, put just 1litre of boiling water in & put it on low.  I checked it’s progress at breakfast & the veg was all cooked, but the lentils still needed a bit longer. I blended it anyway & put it back on low.  By lunchtime it was perfect.  I forgot to do anything with the leek.
I forgot to write sweet potato on the shopping list, so I put some butternut squash in instead.

Slow cooker update #2
I prepped this up last night (just 1L of cold water) & put set the newly aquired timer plug to go on at 5am on high. I could smell it when I got up at 7am <yum> Turned down to low when i went for breakfast around 8 & blended it around 10am. Switched it off at 1130 & ate at 1230.  It fed 2 adults, 2 babies and enough left over for DH’s lunch tomorrow & another generous portion for the freezer.

Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Slow Cooker, Vegetarian
2 comments on “Ginger soup
  1. […] used cumin, rather than ginger as I am always making ginger soups and thought it would be good to have a […]

  2. […] I liked the sound of this Carrot & Sweet Potato Soup, but realised later that by adding some lentils & putting lots of ginger in it, I’d just made a variation on my favourite ever Ginger soup! […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 263 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
