mini oven cooked frittata

A fellow babywhisperer pointed me at the mamacook blog – loads & loads of yummy stuff on there suitable for the kiddies, but this one caught my eye – mum used to do an eggy thing in ramekins when i was younger which i loved, so I was very keen to try this.

I made one for my lunch (as a test), then another for DD1’s tea.  A little part of me was hoping she wouldn’t like it so I could eat it, but I’m glad she scoffed it all up (along with the last of the tomatoes from the garden) this is really easy to make & really yummy too. a definite winner!
Update: Made this again today for DD1 (3.11) & DD2 (1.5) – at first DD1 insisted she didn’t like it, but it turned out she didn’t want the green beans & once I’d picked those out, she was happy.  DD2 ate almost 2 of them <oink!>

1 serving for a small child

Ingredients

  • 1 organic, free-range egg
  • Approx 10g grated vegetarian extra mature or mature cheddar
  • some chopped veggies (I steam some frozen chpped veg)
  • Splash of organic full fat milk
  • Spray oil or a little unsalted butter, melted.

Method

  1. Grease a ramekin; I use spray oil for this, but you could just use some melted butter.
  2. Break and mix the egg in a bowl mixing in the other ingredients. Pour the mixture into the greased ramekin.
  3. Bake for approx 20 minutes at 200 degrees C.
  4. The mix souffles up as it cooks then sinks back a little as it cools.
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Main Meal, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 265 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
