cream of squash soup (slow cooker)

I saw this on www.vegetarianslowcooker.com & thought I’d give it a go in the slow cooker I got for Christmas, however, despite reading the recipe several times I still failed to follow it correctly, so here’s what I did.

Ingredients

  • 1 small onion, peeled, diced
  • 1 large knob of butter
  • 1 largeish butternut squash
  • 1 pint veg stock.
  • 1 tsp marjoram, dried
  • 100g cream cheese

I left out the chilli as DD was having it, and forgot about the fresh pepper.

  • 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon hot chili powder

Method
If you read the original recipe carefully, you’ll no doubt see straight away that you should cook the squash WHOLE in the slow cooker.  Unfortunately, despite reading it twice, I didn’t notice that bit & so got DH to peel & chop the squash for me while I was at yoga.  I popped it in the slow cooker with half a pint of water on high for an hour & then on auto for 4 hours while DD & I went swimming 🙂

Heat a pan & melt the butter in it. Saute the onion until soft & caramelized.

For some reason I then drained the yummy squash liquid away and added the stock.

Add the marjoram & onions to the slow cooker, turn it up to high & leave for 30-60mins.

Blend & serve.

Verdict? Must try harder next time to follow the actual recipe – not having to peel & chop the squash sounds very appealing!

Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with:
Posted in Slow Cooker, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 263 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
