Chocolate Energy Balls

chocolate enery balls

chocolate energy balls

In the past I’ve read lots of opinions on foods to avoid when breastfeeding, but only recently heard about eating cookies to increase your milk supply!  Obviously, I was keen to investigate, but wanted to find a slightly healthier version… Google suggested several recipes, and I chose these little chocolate balls as they seemed like the were the healthiest, easiest, and, well…. most chocolately :-)

After reading around the subject, it seems the ingredients that are thought to help increase your milk supply are oats, brewers yeast & flax seed.  If you have no need to improve lactation, then you could omit the brewers yeast & flax seed from this recipe, but they are good for you in other ways (e.g. brewers yeast is full of B vitamins, and flax seed contains omega-3 essential fatty acids) and guys, rest assured that despite eating loads of these, DH still hasn’t started lactating yet.

The original recipe used Almond Butter, but I used Peanut Butter instead – I’m sure any other nut butter could be used.  If you wanted to make these vegan, I’m sure you could replace the honey with more maple syrup, but I haven’t tried doing that yet. (Let me know if you do).  I forgot to add the sunflower seeds one week, but no-one complained.

This recipe makes about 50 delicious little balls, which if you are lazy like me can seem like a bore to make.  However, resist the temptation to make fewer bigger balls.  If you do this you won’t be able to secretly stuff them in your mouth without the kids/husband noticing, which means you will have to share them!

But do they work?  To be honest I don’t know…. Luckily I have never had any supply problems, but I do feel like I have more milk later in the day, and we seemed to get through the 8 week growth spurt fairly easily, so perhaps they have helped?   Regardless of whether they improve lactation or not, they are a relatively healthy little snack for me to hide in the fridge and munch on whenever I feel the need!

Chocolate Energy (Lactation) Balls

  • Time: 10 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

Instructions

  1. mix everything together
  2. chill in the fridge for 30mins
  3. roll into small balls & store in the fridge

Like this?  How about:

Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Tagged with:
Posted in 2014, Snacks, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

