banana & apple bread

Banana & Apple Bread

Banana & Apple Bread

Sorry, I’ve been a bit rubbish at posting stuff lately.  To be honest, I’m struggling to find time to do everything, and what with DD1 starting school and changing my working pattern, everything’s a bit crazy at the moment!

I’m sure things will settle down soon, but right now I need to sort out some more take-to-work-breakfast ideas as I need them four days a week now!  (All suggestions appreciated!)

Unfortunately, I have chosen this exact time to get a bit bored of my two staples, refrigerator oats and  overnight oats so I needed to come up with some new ideas, and fast or I will be eating Breakfast Cookies every day! <yum>

I saw this recipe for Clean Eating Banana Apple Bread by @SkinnyMsMag and thought it fitted the bill perfectly. Healthy, tasty, and a way to use up those manky bananas which always get left in the fruit bowl!

As always, I had to make a few changes to the ingredients…… there were a couple of ingredients we didn’t have in the cupboard, so I tasked DH with getting the Almond Meal & Oat Bran from a health food shop near his work.  Unfortunately, he forgot didn’t get chance, so I thought I’d just sub in some regular Plain flour.  Then I realised I didn’t have any baking powder, so I used Self-raising flour.  MIL had brought us round some little apples from her tree the day before, so I used 3 of those instead of the Granny Smiths in the fruit bowl.  I’ve never used Stevia before, and was about to sub in some sugar when I realised this recipe has 3 bananas & 2 apples in – surely it’s going to be sweet enough?  So I just missed it out.  I also used regular (full fat) Olive Oil instead of anything extra-light, and (full fat) cow’s milk instead of almond milk.

So, I made it & crossed my fingers while cursing the fact that it was so late & this took almost an hour to cook!  As soon as it was cooked I just took it out of the oven & left it on the side too cool down overnight.  When I tried it in the morning I was very pleased – it was a really nice banana bread with deliciously moist apple chunks in – so glad I didn’t add that extra sugar!   DH & DD2(2.5) also liked it.  DD1(5) wasn’t keen, but as this is for MY breakfast, for once I don’t care what she thinks! :-o

Ingredients

Apples

  • 2 Granny Smiths apples – peeled, cored and diced
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp water

Banana Bread

  • 2 cups SR Flour
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 8 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 very ripe bananas-mashed

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C (350F).
  2. Line the loaf tin with baking parchment
  3. Put diced apples in a small pot on medium heat.
  4. Add the water, cinnamon & vanilla and cook until soft – about 5 mins and set aside.
  5. In a medium bowl mix the flour, cinnamon and nutmeg.
  6. In another bowl mix the olive oil, eggs, milk and vanilla.
  7. Add the wet mixture to the dry meal mixture, and mix slowly.
  8. Once combined, stir in the mashed bananas and fold in the apples.
  9. Pour the batter into the loaf tin and bake for approx. 50 mins, or when a skewer comes out clean.
  10. Once ready, let cool inside the tin & then remove & serve
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Posted in 2013, Baking, Breakfast, Snacks, Vegetarian
One comment on “banana & apple bread
  1. liveinazoo says:

    hi bessie!i shall “borrow” this one as an alternative to my sons addiction to carrots banana muffins!!
    other options for quickie breakfasts are nigellas fruit and nut barsand hugh F.W banana booster breakfast bars.i also have a no added sugar date and walnut muffin all of which we use when time is short!i cant believe dd1 has started big school!where does the time go?my eldest has gone off to uni !if you want the recipes you know where to find me!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

