Refrigerator Oats

Refrigerator OatsI saw this recipe for Maple Brown Refrigerator Oats & thought it sounded perfect for me to take to work for breakfast, but when I came to make it I realised I didn’t have any Maple Syrup or chia seeds so I made my own version up.  If you want more inspiration, there are many other versions on Emily’s website

To be perfectly honest, I didn’t expect this to be very nice – I thought it would take like cold porridge <ugh> but I was very pleasantly surprised by how yummy it was, and will definately be making it again – perhaps with some different seeds or nuts in next time….

Ingredients

  • 0.5 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 0.5 tbs brown sugar
  • 0.5 cup milk
  • 2 tsp or so of seeds or fruit, so far I have tried
    • 1 tsp flaxseed & 1 tsp linseed
    • 1 tsp flaxseed, 1tsp linseed & 1 tbsp ground almonds
    • 1 tsp flaxseed, 1tsp sunflower seeds

Instructions

  1. Mix everything together in the evening
  2. Put in the fridge
  3. Eat in the morning
Vegetarian. One husband, Two cats, Three kids.

Posted in 2013, Breakfast, Vegetarian
6 comments on “Refrigerator Oats
  1. Emily says:

    so glad it turned out better than expected!

  2. [...] recipe is from Emily who is the same lady who brought refrigerator oats into my life.   It was really easy to make, but the smell coming from the kitchen for the last [...]

  3. [...] started with her refrigerator oats, moved on to peanut butter granola, and then this.  All have been wolfed down by various members [...]

  4. [...] our sunday oaty breakfasts lately (Maple Pecan Granola, Peanut Butter & Honey Granola, &Refrigerator Oats) so when I saw this I knew I had to make [...]

  5. […] I have chosen this exact time to get a bit bored of my two staples, refrigerator oats and  overnight oats so I needed to come up with some new ideas, and fast or I will be eating […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 257 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 257 other followers

